Directors Guild of America

Sunday, January 26, 2014

DGA Award for best feature film director goes to “Gravity”

The race for Oscars is turning into a real, ah, horse race. Last night at the DGA Awards, “Gravity” took away the top honor — Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film. Director, Alfonso Cuarón, picked up the award for what many consider a cinematic masterpiece. “Gravity” is about two astronauts, played by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney, struggling to survive […]
Tuesday, January 7, 2014

DGA award nominations for 2013 feature films out today

 The nominations were released this morning for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2013. This is a major award — as these nominees are usually the front-runners in the race for the Best Director Oscar. “To be chosen by your peers in a year full of incredibly well-crafted films is the true marker of outstanding directorial […]
Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Awards catch-up: WGA, NAACP, SAG, and DGA

Last Sunday, February 19, the Writers Guild of America West and East announced the winners of the 2012 Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for screen, television, radio, news, promotional, videogame, and new media writing. Simultaneous ceremonies were held at Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles and the B.B. King Blues Club in New York City. SCREEN WINNERS ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY Midnight […]
Sunday, January 15, 2012

Catching up: DGA Awards nominees are out

The entertainment industry’s awards season is in full bloom. This past week, the Directors Guild of America released a slew of its nominations for television, feature films, and documentaries. Here are the nominees for the prestigious outstanding directorial achievement in feature films for 2011. Woody Allen  “Midnight in Paris” Fifth nomination. He won in 1977 for “Annie Hall” David Fincher “The […]
Sunday, February 6, 2011

ShowBiz bits: Awards and kudos in Hollywood

 WGA 2011 awards Some of Hollywood’s top writing awards were given out last night by the Writers Guild of America. The best original screenplay went to Christopher Nolan for the smart sci-fi actioner, “Inception.”  The ceremony was held simultaneously at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in the Southland and at the AXA Equitable Center in New York City. Aaron Sorkin took home the […]
Friday, January 14, 2011

ShowBiz Bits: “The Green Hornet,” Michael Jackson’s doctor, and DGA Awards feature film nominees

“The Green Hornet” opens in theaters today The new film version of “The Green Hornet” is going to try to make a killing over the long Martin Luther King Jr. holiday weekend. “The Green Hornet” has appeared in a number of different media including, a radio program, a television series, and comic books. The 3D film hits domestic theaters today and stars, Seth Rogen as […]
Sunday, January 31, 2010

Kathryn Bigelow wins the DGA’s best feature film director award!

Photo from Director James Cameron is king of the Box Office right now, but the Directors Guild of America picked filmmaker Kathryn Bigelow as the best feature film director of 2009. The winner was announced last night at the 62nd Annual DGA Awards dinner in Los Angeles.    The 58-year-old Bigelow won for the highly acclaimed Iraq-war drama, “The Hurt Locker.” She is the […]
Thursday, January 7, 2010

DGA announces best film director nominees & the People’s Choice Awards

DGA picks top five film directors of 2009 Today the Directors Guild of America announced a solid list of contenders for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2009. The nominees for the award are: Kathryn Bigelow “The Hurt Locker,” James Cameron “Avatar,” Lee Daniels “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” James Reitman “Up In The Air,” and Quentin Tarantino […]
Thursday, January 8, 2009

“The Dark Knight” gets a nomination from the Directors Guild of America

Today several films got a boost in the Oscar race with the announcement of the contenders for top feature film director of 2008 by the Directors Guild of America. The five nominees for the DGA Award are Christopher Nolan for “The Dark Knight,” Gus Van Sant “Milk,” David Fincher “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” Ron Howard “Frost/Nixon,” and Danny Boyle for “Slumdog […]