new laws

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

New state law prohibits fines for brown lawns

An ugly brown lawn may be an eyesore to some, but it’s not a finable offense in the state of California. Yesterday, Governor Jerry Brown signed into law Assembly Bill 1, which protects those brown or golden lawns for now. The legislation “… prohibit a city, county, or city and county from imposing a fine under any ordinance for a […]
Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Talk of the Town: Police Officer David Nelson, Joy Forbes, and new child vaccine law

A funeral service will be held later today for former-Burbank police cadet and Bakersfield Police Officer, David Nelson. The 26 year-old former Burbank High School graduate was killed in the line of duty last Friday, when his cruiser crashed during a police pursuit. In a statement from the Burbank Unified School District, Nelson is remembered as “… an intelligent, caring, funny, […]
Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Governor Brown signs into law paid sick leave for millions of workers

  Today California became only the second state in the nation to require employers to provide paid sick leave for workers. Governor Jerry Brown signed into law the landmark Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 or SB 1522. Currently, 6.5 million California workers or 40 percent of the workforce cannot take a paid day off when they are ill or […]
Saturday, May 23, 2009

Mixed blessings on this Memorial Day holiday weekend

Photo: FLLewis/A Writer’s Groove — Burbank The economy is still struggling. Job layoffs by the thousands continue. Gasoline prices at the pumps are up. On Thursday, May 21, I paid $2.60 a gallon at a gas station in Burbank. A month ago at the same station, I paid $2.30 a gallon.  And food prices are still outrageously high; why is that […]
Thursday, September 25, 2008

A new law bans text messaging while driving

  Another slap down for text messaging. Yesterday, Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger signed into law a bill banning texting while driving a motor vehicle. Drivers caught texting behind the wheel face fines of $20 for the first offense and $50 for violations after that. I would give the law a major high-five if the penalties were stiffer for this kind of hazardous conduct on our streets and […]
Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Sign of confusion

  This hands free phone sign reminder for drivers may have caused some double takes. The sign near the border of Glendale and Burbank, on San Fernando Road at Spazier Avenue, had a misspelling in the first word the first time I spotted it. Check out the photo at the top taken the week of June 23. I took more […]
Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Drivers beware! Hands off those cell phones

Motorists whizz through the intersection of Main Street and Alameda Avenue in Burbank. Starting today, holding a cell phone to your ear and driving will be against the law. California joins five other states requiring hands-free phones while behind the wheel. If you get caught, the general fine is $20 for the first time and $50 for any repeats. California […]